Happy Homes: Daisy

1 May

My family has always had multiple dogs in our home; we feel that a house isn’t a home without pets to love. Labs have been the breed we seem to gravitate towards, but we have always had a “mutt” too. My parents and I have long wanted to foster or save a “senior citizen” as all of our dogs have lived well past life expectancy. Unfortunately, our life circumstances kept us from doing so until this past year.

-13

I always kept a look out for senior dogs in need of a foster or forever home and in December of last year I saw Daisy, a 10 year old yellow lab, on the Eleventh Hour Rescue Facebook page. I immediately showed the post to my mother. We knew right away that we HAD to have her!!! Her sweet face just spoke to us and tugged at our
heartstrings. We filled out an adoption application that evening and watched and waited patiently for Daisy to arrive in NJ (10 long days later). Our adoption application was approved, and we were thrilled, but were warned that there was someone ahead of us in line for Daisy.

We heard nothing for a few days and came to the conclusion that the other person had rescued Daisy – we were sad for us, but thrilled for her. The next day we received a call from Susan, Daisy’s foster mom in NJ. She wanted to set up a meet and greet with her. Our hearts soared- there was still a chance!!!

We met Daisy at Susan’s house and to say we fell in love with her immediately was an understatement! She was just so sweet and had A LOT of energy for a 10 year old dog! We played with her and talked with Susan for quite a while. Susan said that the person in line for Daisy before us hadn’t worked out. Susan felt we were a good match for Daisy, but we still needed to be sure that our dogs and Daisy got along and Susan had to make sure our yard was secure.

-12

Daisy and Susan came to our house that weekend, on December 23rd. We walked all of the dogs (our two dogs Sig and Koda along with Daisy) and let them play in our yard. The meeting went very well and that day we signed our adoption papers for Daisy.

She was our early Christmas present, and what a gift she was! Daisy has made our lives so fulfilled; she is truly the sweetest creature to ever walk this Earth and we are beyond blessed to have her in our lives. We realize that her time with us won’t be more than a few years, but those years will be precious!

-11

Adopting Daisy opened my eyes to the plight that so many homeless dogs and cats have. I researched EHR’s philosophy and decided that I had to give back to the organization that brought so much joy. I began volunteering in January and the time I spend at the kennel each week have become the most gratifying hours of my week. I not only work with the dogs, but also foster Maddie, a gorgeous, playful, sweet, silly cat up for adoption through EHR. Now, our home and hearts are full thanks to Eleventh Hour Rescue!

-14

To see all of our adoptable animals, including Maddie the cat, please visit http://www.ehrdogs.org/

 

 

By Erika McKeon

2 Responses to “Happy Homes: Daisy”

  1. Kathy May 1, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    what a wonderful story! we have 2 rescue dogs from EHR along with a cat that my son got as a kitten from a friend’s litter. All three get along great and they have enriched our lives in so many ways. I have thought lately about volunteering as well, since I want to help the poor animals that have not yet been adopted and since we really are at our limit right now, it’s the least I can do. (My husband is convinced that if I do this, I will come home with more animals! LOL). I may have to get that volunteer application filled out!

  2. Cecelia Colon May 1, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    She is beautiful and reminds me of our own “Daisy” (who was also a yellow Lab). Daisy was the sweetest dog and wanted nothing more than to please us and be near us. Your Daisy looks wonderful and she obviously already adjusted to being in your home. Lots of love and joy to you all….two and four-legged creatures…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

