Transport Tails: My First Transport

1 May

We rescue dogs and cats from all across the country and even the world! Follow along as we recount some of our amazing transport experiences!

It was my second month with Eleventh Hour and I was slowly getting used to the craziness that is a part of animal rescue. Amidst the flurry of emails on our message board, I noticed one calling for help with a transport. I hadn’t had a chance to pick up dogs from a transport yet and decided to open the email.

Five lab/husky mix puppies were being flown to New Jersey from South Carolina by the amazing organization Pilots and Paws, a group of pilots who dedicate their time and resources to fly animals to freedom from overcrowded shelters. I immediately cleared my schedule and volunteered to meet the pups, excited about the chance to welcome them to safety.

The morning of their arrival, I prepared my SUV with two giant crates, cozy towels and blankets, some little toys, bowls for water and food, leashes, and some “just in case” accident items. I got on the road extra early and could barely contain my excitement.

I arrived at the airport with plenty of time to spare and met up with a volunteer from another local rescue who was also picking up dogs from the flight. We anxiously awaited the plane, keeping our eyes peeled on the sky. My heart jumped every time I heard the sound of an engine approaching.

Finally, we saw the signature logo on a plane headed in for landing. We pulled our cars closer to the landing strip so we could be near the plane once it parked. The pilot got out and greeted us and then we went right to work.

-5

When he opened the door of the plane, my heart melted. Staring up at me from inside a large crate were five of the cutest little faces I have ever seen. Their tails were wagging so fast and they were so excited to finally arrive!

One by one, I took them to go potty in the nearby grass and then safely got them into the crates in my car. I gave them lots of fresh water and even treated them to some hamburger patties which they gobbled up enthusiastically. I gave each of them attention and pets and took lots of pictures.

-6

Of the five, four were boys and one was a girl, the tiny little runt of the litter. The girl and one of her brothers was black and other three were golden. I checked their collars to find out their names and couldn’t get over how adorable they were: Parker, Paxton, Preston, Porter, and Peyton!

It was finally time to get on the road. I thanked the pilot for his help and got ready to complete the next leg of my task. We made the journey back to our enhanced adoption center where the pups were scheduled to meet some interested adopters. I knew they would be adopted quickly and I was a little sad to see them go, even after only spending a couple hours with them.

-7

I helped get them settled and said goodbye to each pup, promising them that they would now be safe and loved forever. When I got to my car, I had tears in my eyes, but I was so grateful to have been a part of their happy endings. All of the pups were adopted and went home within two days and this became the first of many transports I have helped greet.

If you’d like to volunteer with us and help transport dogs, fill out an application at http://www.ehrdogs.org/

By Christine Perez

One Response to “Transport Tails: My First Transport”

  1. Shana May 1, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    That is so awesome!!!!!

Leave a Reply

